AddressCentral

Help!

Need some help? The following topics cover all aspects of using the Live Contact Book.

Adding contacts

With your Live Contact Book you have the privilege of inviting others to it and they can keep it updated for you:

1. When logged in, above your Live Contact Book is the invite box. In this box you may either type or paste the email address(es) of whoever you wish to invite to your Live Contact Book. If you enter multiple emails at once, make they sure are separated by whitespace (e.g. space, tab or line break). After the email addresses of those you wish to invite are in there, click on the “Invite” button.

2. The next screen will allow you to choose what contact data you wish to share with the person or people you are inviting. For example, if you just select “Address” and “Phone Numbers”, even though you have other data like email addresses, all of those you invite will only be able to see you phone numbers and address (you may always edit this later). After selecting the categories you wish to share, click on “Invite”.

3. That’s it. When your invitees accept your invite, they will be in your Live Contact Book.

Please only add contacts whom you know.


Inviting Google, Yahoo!, Hotmail and other contacts

Contacts from existing address books may be invited all at once to your Live Contact Book so long as they have an email address amongst their contact data. The following instructions will show you how to invite your contacts from various sources all at once:


Google Contacts

1. When logged into your Gmail account in a web browser, click on the “Gmail” dropdown menu up the top left and select “Contacts”.

2. Click on the “More” dropdown menu above the contacts and then select “Export…”

3. When the “Export contacts” box pops up, select “All contacts” from the options in the top half of the box, and then select “Google CSV format” from the selection in the bottom half.

4. A CSV file named “google.csv” containing your Gmail contacts will download to your default download location (usually your downloads folder).

5. Above your list of Live Contacts, click on the “Choose File” button and then select the google.csv file you just exported. It will then populate all your Gmail contact’s email addresses into the invite box so that you might invite them all at once.


Yahoo! Contacts

1. When logged into your Yahoo! Mail account in a web browser, click on the contacts icon up the top left (above “Compose”).

2. Click on the “Actions” drop down menu above your contacts then click on “Export…”.

3. When the “Export Contacts” box appears, select “Yahoo CSV” and then click on “Export Now”.

4. A CSV file named “yahoo_contacts.csv” containing your Yahoo! Mail contacts will download to your default download location (usually your downloads folder).

5. Above your list of Live Contacts, click on the “Choose File” button and then select the yahoo_contacts.csv file you just exported. It will then populate all your Yahoo! contact’s email addresses into the invite box so that you might invite them all at once.


Windows Live Mail / Hotmail / Outlook Contacts

1. When logged into your account in a web browser, click on the downward facing arrow (immediately to the right of “Outlook” up the top left) and then click on the “People” tile.

2. Click on the “Manage” dropdown menu up the top and then select “Export”.

3. A CSV file named “WLMContacts.csv” containing your contacts will download to your default download location (usually your downloads folder).

4. Above your list of Live Contacts, click on the “Choose File” button and then select the WLMContacts.csv file you just exported. It will then populate all of the email addresses it contains into the invite box so that you might invite them all at once.


Outlook (MAC OS X application – different versions may require a different process)

1. When the application is open and active, go to File up the top of the screen and select “Export…”.

2. When the “Export” box appears, select “Contacts to a list (tab delineated text)” and then click on the right arrow at the bottom right.

3. Save the file in a name you desire and to your desired location.

4. Click on “Done” in the export box and then


Contacts (Application on MAC OS X Version 10.9.2, “Address Book” on previous OS X versions)

1. Contacts from the native Contacts application on Apple laptop and desktop computers may be imported, but need to be done so through an iOS device. If your Contacts application on your Apple laptop or desktop are in synchronization with your mobile device, then follow the instruction on how to import contacts from your iOS device [hyperlinked]. If your Contacts application on your Apple laptop or desktop are not in synchronization with your iOS device, or you are unsure, here are the steps to follow:

2. When the Contacts application is open, on the menu up the top of the screen go to “Contacts” then select “Accounts…”.

3. When the “Internet Accounts” window opens, select “iCloud” from the menu on the left (if you do not have an iCloud account, click here for instructions).

4. Ensure that “Contacts” is checked on the options on the right. If you need to check it, then click on Merge when prompted.

5. You may now import your OX S contacts to your AddressCentral account from your iOS device [hyperlinked].

These instructions are valid as of March 11, 2015. If any of these services have updated their systems in the meantime, the process of exporting contacts may differ.

Editing your contact information

The signup process will allow you to enter your contact information. After that, you may edit or add more information:

1. When logged in, click on “Update My Contact Data” (you may also click on your own contact).

2. Answer the security question.

3. Enter or edit the data you wish, then click on “Save Changes.”

Changing the data you share with a contact

At any time you may share more or less of your data with each individual contact. For example, you may have a contact with whom you are sharing all your details with, but wish to stop sharing your address with them. To make such changes:

1. Click on the contact.

2. On their pop up page, click on the button “Edit what you share with this contact”.

3. Uncheck any categories you no longer want to share, or check categories that you wish to share.

4. Click on “Save Changes”. Done!

Deleting a contact

Deleting a contact means they will be removed from your Live Contact Book, you will be removed from theirs, and no data will be shared between you.

1. Click on the contact you wish to delete.

2. Click on the delete button.

3. Confirm that you wish to delete them.

Recovering a forgotten password

1. Go to the homepage.

2. Click on “Forgot password?” that is towards the top right of the page under the field for password.

3. Enter and submit the email that is your username.

4. You will receive a password reset request email, and click on the link within it.

5. Submit the token then create your new password.

Changing your password

1. When logged in, go to Account Settings.

2. Answer your security question.

3. Under the heading “Change Password”, enter your current password, then create and confirm a new password and then click on the change password button.

Adjusting email preferences

1. When logged in, go to Account Settings.

2. Answer your security question.

3. Under the heading “Email Preferences”, check or uncheck the various emails that you may receive.

Signing up for an account

Go to the homepage and fill out all the fields. We recommend using the email address you use most frequently. Step by step instructions will be provided during this process.

Deleting your account

We hope that you will never wish to do this, but for any reason should you need to delete your account:

1. When logged in, go to Account Settings.

2. Answer your security question.

3. At the bottom click on “Delete Account”.

4. Answer the security questions to confirm your identity.